Wizkid, Olamide & More In The List Of The Headies Awards Record Holders



Wizkid, Olamide & More In The List Of The Headies Awards Record Holders

The headies are back.

Organizers of Nigeria’s most prestigious award ceremony have announced the 15th edition of the awards scheduled to hold on the 2nd of July, 2022 at the Cobb Energy Centre, Atlanta, United States – the first time the event will be held outside Nigeria. The awards will cover from October 2020 – December 2021 as its Year – in – review.

Since its debut edition in 2006 at the Shell Hall of the Muson Centre, the awards have seen numerous winners across its different categories. These are some of the major records of the headies awards.


Wizkid holds the record for the most headies awards wins with 11 awards. He has won three Artiste of the Year, Two Best R&B/pop Awards, two viewer’s Choice Awards and one Next Rated, Hip Hop World Revelation, Best Collabo, and Song of the Year Awards.

He is followed by Mode 9 & 2 baba with 9 & 8 awards respectively. Wande Coal (7), Olamide (7), Psquare (6), M.I Abaga (6), Davido (5), Timi Dakolo (5), 9ice (5) complete the top 10.


Alongside D’banj, Davido has won more “Song of the Year” Awards than any other act.

Davido and D’banj are the only acts to have won the “Song of the Year” award more than once. Psquare, Olu Maintain, 9ice, Bracket, Ice Prince, Wizkid, Kcee, Phyno, DJ Neptune, and Burna Boy have each won the award once.


Olamide has won the “Album of the Year” Awards more times than anyone else. He won three back-to-back awards for “YBNL”, “Baddest Guy Ever Liveth” and “Street OT” in 2013, 2014, and 2015. P-Square comes second with two awards while 2baba, Asa, 9ice, Wande Coal, Simi, Paul Play, Kizz Daniel, Fireboy DML, and Falz have all won the award once.


Wizkid has won the award three times, more than anyone else. He won in 2020, 2016, 2020. Davido comes second with two awards coming in 2014 and 2018. 2face, Olamide, Burna Boy, 9ice, Wande Coal, D’banj, Paul Play, Iyanya, and Psquare have won the award once.


This award celebrates the rapper with the best lyrical depth and performance on a single song or album in the year under review. Mode nine dominates the record books with seven wins of the 14 editions of the Awards so far. Vector and Illbliss have each won the award twice while Jesse Jagz, M.I Abaga, and AQ have one win each.


Praiz and Timi Dakolo have each won this award twice, more than anyone else. For the female category, Omawunmi holds the record with two wins.

Who Do You Think Is Going To Win The Most This Year?

Let’s hear from you.

Drop a comment.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply